Programming Languages and Runtime Systems Research Group

Prof. Dr. J. Gutknecht

Current Student Projects

1.) Style layer and renderer for the existing XML-based GUI shell of Aos

Diploma thesis: 17.4. – 16.8.2001

Supervisor: T. Frey, RZ H25

Student: Stefan Walthert, swalthert@iiic.ethz.ch

2.) Compaq iPaq client for Aos servicesm im particular file transfer

Semester project: Summer semester 2001

Supervisors: P. Reali, M. Tafra
Student: Frank Segginger, frank@segginger.net

3.) Aos implementation for the DNARD network computer
Diploma thesis: 18.4. - 17.8.2001

Supervisor: P. Muller

Student: Bernhard Egger, begger@iiic.ethz.ch

4.) Client/Server File System for Aos
Semester project: Summer semester 2001

Supervisor: P. Muller
Student: Patrick Stuedi, pstuedi@iiic.ethz.ch

5.) Internet-based medical image processing and data management with Oberon
Semester project: Summer semester 2001

Supervisor: P. Muller
Student: Daniel Keller, dekeller@iiic.ethz.ch

 

6.) Light-weight implementation of a DOM API for XML on .net

Development project: Summer semester 2001

Supervisor: J. Gutknecht

Student: Thomas Lozza, tlozza@student.ethz.ch

Student Project Offers

1.) MS .net: Oberon compiler enhancements
Contact person: J. Gutknecht, RZ H24, gutknecht@inf.ethz.ch

2.) MS .net: Advanced service object repository
Contact person: J. Gutknecht, RZ H24, gutknecht@inf.ethz.ch

3.) MS .net: Server side programming with Oberon
Contact person: J. Gutknecht, RZ H24, gutknecht@inf.ethz.ch

4.) MS .net: Programming education with Oberon
Contact person: J. Gutknecht, RZ H24, gutknecht@inf.ethz.ch

5.) MS .net: Implementation of a VNC (remote viewer) client
Contact person: T. Frey, RZ H25, frey@inf.ethz.ch

6.) Aos: Webservices (based on WSDL, WMSL, SOAP)
Contact person: P. Kramer, RZ H25, kramer@inf.ethz.ch

7.) Aos: Application server development
Contact person: J. Gutknecht, RZ H24, gutknecht@inf.ethz.ch

8.) Aos: Driver development
Contact person: T. Frey, RZ H25, frey@inf.ethz.ch

    a.) PCMCIA

    b.) TV PCI-card, including GUI design

    c.) Generic soundblaster driver

9.) Aos: Multimedia implementation
Contact person: T. Frey, RZ H25, frey@inf.ethz.ch

    a.) MPEG2 player

    b.) MP3 player

10.) Aos: Standard service development
Contact person: T. Frey, RZ H25, frey@inf.ethz.ch

    a.) FTP

    b.) HTTP1.1 with CGI support

    c.) IMAP client

11.) Aos: Advanced GUI platform design in XSL/XML
Contact person: T. Frey, RZ H25, frey@inf.ethz.ch

12.) Java for Aos: Implementation of AWT classes
Contact person: P. Reali, RZ H23, reali@inf.ethz.ch

13.) Java for Aos: Implementation of net support classes
Contact person: P. Reali, RZ H23, reali@inf.ethz.ch

14.) Java for Aos: Java byte code optimizer
Contact person: P. Reali, RZ H23, reali@inf.ethz.ch

15.) Java for Aos: JVM benchmarking
Contact person: P. Reali, RZ H23, reali@inf.ethz.ch

16.) Programming language approach to multimedia production
Contact person: J. Gutknecht, RZ H24, gutknecht@inf.ethz.ch